CAMC - Our Team

Core Staff

Professor Patricia Phillippy

Professor of Material and Cultural Memories
Executive Director, Centre for Arts, Memory and Communities

Email: patricia.phillippy@coventry.ac.uk

PatPhillippy2.pngProfessor Patricia Phillippy is an international leader in the field of early modern women’s writing. Her research explores the intersections of literary and material artefacts in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, placing a particular emphasis on gender and women’s creative productions in varied media, including printed books, manuscripts, monuments and religious artefacts. Her current research attends to the multimedial intersections of culture and climate in the early modern world, teasing out the implications of the stratigraphic location of the Anthropocene in the early seventeenth century. She is the editor of the Elizabethan section of the Palgrave Online Encyclopaedia of Early Modern Women’s Writing, and Senior Editor of The Sixteenth-Century Journal.

Professor Juliet Simpson, FRSA, FRHistS

Professor of Art History
Research Director, Centre for Arts, Memory and Communities
Theme Lead: Cultural Memory

Email: juliet.simpson@coventry.ac.uk

julietsimpson2.pngProfessor Juliet Simpson is an internationally-recognized expert in art and visual cultures of the long nineteenth century and twentieth centuries, a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and Royal Society of Arts, and Director of the Lanchester Research Gallery. Her current work explores how we image, retrieve and reinvent personal and collective cultural memory, via objects, texts, sites and monuments, and on the reception and reinvention of Northern Gothic and Renaissance visual cultures, including in collections, receptions, via displays and transnational cultural exchange in modern and contemporary art, on which she has published and lectured extensively.

 

Professor Carolina Rito

Professor of Creative Practice Research
Theme Lead: Critical Practices

Email: carolina.rito@coventry.ac.uk

prof_carolina_rito.jpg

Professor Carolina Rito is an international researcher and curator whose work explores the curatorial as an investigative practice, expanding practice-based research in the fields of curating, visual arts, visual cultures and cultural studies. Rito has a long-standing experience in experimental curatorial practices and her research encompasses novel concepts, paradigms, and methods of inquiry for curatorial and artistic research. Rito is Executive Board Member of the Midlands Higher Education & Culture Forum; Research Fellow at the Institute of Contemporary History (IHC), Universidade NOVA de Lisboa; Executive Editor of The Contemporary Journal; and Chair for the Collaborative Research Working Group for the MHECF.

Professor Louise Moody

Professor of Health Design and Human Factors
Theme Lead: Well-being and the Arts

Email: louise.moody@coventry.ac.uk

Lm_2.pngLouise Moody is Professor of Health Design and Human Factors and leads the Well-being and the Arts strand within the Centre for Arts, Memory and Communities. Her interdisciplinary research is focused on the development and evaluation of technology and interventions for health and wellbeing. With a background in Psychology and Human Factors she employs a range of research methods as well as art-based approaches to ensure that new products, systems, services and interventions are effective as well as being desirable and acceptable to end-users and stakeholders.

Dr Daniel Anderson daniel.anderson@coventry.ac.uk
Professor John Devane john.devane@coventry.ac.uk
Professor Jill Journeaux jill.journeaux@coventry.ac.uk
Professor Damian Sutton damian.sutton@coventry.ac.uk 
Rosie Wilkes rosie.wilkes@coventry.ac.uk
Professor Andree Woodcock andree.woodcock@coventry.ac.uk
Name Email Research Title Supervisor
Fatima-Zohra Souad Belalem belalemf@coventry.ac.uk   Hilary Nesi
Ikram Berkani berkanii@uni.coventry.ac.uk Trauma, Disability and Art in Mosteghanemi's Trilogy Hilary Nesi
Imane Bouchakour bouchaki@uni.coventry.ac.uk   Hilary Nesi
Molly Browne brownem6@uni.coventry.ac.uk Benefit of horticultural, outdoor and nature-based activities for people living with dementia and cognitive impairment  Louise Moody
Eleanor Cook cooke6@uni.coventry.ac.uk At Home in Coventry 1945 - 1970 Imogen Racz
Suzie Cowley-Haselden cowleyhs@uni.coventry.ac.uk   Sheena Gardner
Lottie Crawford crawfo22@uni.coventry.ac.uk   Juliet Simpson
Jennifer Dudley dudleyj4@uni.coventry.ac.uk Mutability, Materiality and Meaning in Sculpture Made by Women (1977-1990) Imogen Racz
Zoe Gazeley-Eke   A linguistic ethnographical investigation into the need for English for Specific Academic Purposes (ESAP) in Fashion Sheena Gardner
Carole Griffiths griff214@uni.coventry.ac.uk   Imogen Racz
Georgina Homer homerg2@uni.coventry.ac.uk   Judith Mossman
Hugh Jenkins jenkin83@uni.coventry.ac.uk   Jim Clarke
Rebecca Key     Damian Sutton
Sara Lahlouhi   A Corpus-based Analysis of the Linguistic Needs of Future Architects Hilary Nesi
Matthew Macaulay macaulam@uni.coventry.ac.uk British Abstract Painters and Pedagogy from 1975 to 2005 Graham Chorlton
Anthony Martin marti108@uni.coventry.ac.uk Housewatch: 1985-97 Cinematic architecture for the pedestrian. Investigation into the evolution of their practice and collaboration Jill Journeaux
Priya Mathew mathewp2@uni.coventry.ac.uk   Hilary Nesi
Joanna Meredith meredit8@uni.coventry.ac.uk   Juliet Simpson
Julie O'Neill oneill19@uni.coventry.ac.uk   Imogen Racz
Fares Rezoug rezougf@uni.coventry.ac.uk   Hilary Nesi
Abdi Rahmat Syam syama@coventry.ac.uk   Sheena Gardner
Christopher Turner turner87@uni.coventry.ac.uk   Hilary Nesi
Cipto Wardoyo wardoyoc@uni.coventry.ac.uk Realization of advice speech acts performed by global Islamic preachers on YouTube Sheena Gardner
Yan Yan Yeung yeungy15@uni.coventry.ac.uk   Hilary Nesi