CAWR Staff List

Leadership

Name Title Email Phone number
Michel Pimbert Executive Director Theme Leader: Enabling policies and institutions for resilient food and water systems michel.pimbert@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651607
Damian Lawler Deputy Director & Professor of Hydrology Theme Leader: Understanding fundamental underlying processes that confer resilience or lack of resilience damian.lawler@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651674
Julia Wright Senior Research Fellow, Agroecological Futures Theme Leader: Resilient Food and Water Systems in Practice julia.wright@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651621
Moya Kneafsey Professor of Food & Local Development/ Human Geography Theme Leader:  Community self-organisation for resilience moya.kneafsey@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651608
Michael Warne  Professor of Ecotoxicology and Water Quality michael.warne@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651677
Alexandra Franklin Senior Research Fellow, Food, Water and Community Resilience alex.franklin@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651667
Carole Fox Head of Operations carole.fox@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651609

Professional Services

Name Title Email Phone number
Agnes Zolyomi Project Manager - RECOMS agnes.zolyomi@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651696
Amber Georgestone Administrative Assistant amber.georgestone@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651679
Carole Fox Head of Operations carole.fox@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651609
Csilla Kiss International Research Engagement and Liaison Officer csilla.kiss@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651618
Josh Elliott Senior Administrative Assistant josh.elliott@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651685
Katrin Marquardt Project Manager - BOND katrin.marquardt@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651695
Layla Riches Senior Administrative Assistant layla.riches@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651601
Liz Woodard Senior Administrative Assistant liz.woodard@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651600
Michelle Taberner Administrative Officer - Directorship Support & Operations michelle.taberner@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651663
Mina Thompson Postgraduate Programmes Coordinator mina.thompson@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651602
Ramon Gonzalez-Mendez Head Technician ramon.gonzalez-mendez@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651678
Rosie Gibbard Senior Administrative Assistant rosie.gibbard@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651627
Rachel Frost Administrative Assistant rachel.frost@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651679

Researchers

Name Title Email Phone number 
Adrian Evans Senior Research Fellow in Food and Community Resilience adrian.evans@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651620
Angela Hilmi Senior Research Fellow, Agroecological Transitions angela.hilmi@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651658
Barbara Smith Senior Research Fellow, Agricultural Ecology & Public Science barbara.smith2@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651661 
Bastien Dieppois Research Fellow, Water & Climate Change bastien.dieppois@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651668
Chiara Tornaghi Senior Research Fellow, Urban Food Sovereignty and Resilience chiara.tornaghi@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651683
Chris Maughan Research Fellow chris.maughan@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651698
Colin Anderson Senior Research Fellow in Participatory Action Research on Resilience, Food Sovereignty and Communities colin.anderson@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651619
Damian Lawler Deputy Director & Professor of Hydrology
Theme Leader: Understanding fundamental underlying processes that confer resilience or lack of resilience
damian.lawler@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651674
Deepa Joshi Senior Research Fellow, Gender and Water Governance deepa.joshi@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651653
Donna Udall Researcher donna.udall@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651615
Francis Rayns Research Fellow, Organic Soil Fertility francis.rayns@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651656
Gemma Foster Researcher gemma.foster@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651610
Iain MacKinnon Research Fellow, Governance of Land & Natural Resources iain.mackinnon@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651631
Jackie Abell Reader Jackie.Abell2@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651693
Jahi Chappell Senior Research Fellow jahi.chappell@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651664
James Bennett Senior Lecturer, Environmental Science james.bennett@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651662
Jana Fried Research Fellow, Resilience jana.fried@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651666
Jasber Singh Senior Research Fellow in Participatory Practice jasber.singh@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651630
Jonathan Eden Research Fellow in Climate Variability and Hydrological Change jonathan.eden@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651659
Joshua Brem-Wilson Research Fellow - Farmer Participation in Transitional Food & Agricultural-Policy-Making joshua.brem-wilson@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651670
Judith Conroy Research Assistant judith.conroy@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651671
Julia Wright Senior Research Fellow, Agroecological Futures julia.wright@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651621
Katharina Dehnen-Schmutz Senior Research Fellow, Ecology and Environmental Change katharina.dehnen-schmutz@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651612
Liliane Binego Research Assistant, Stabilisation Agriculture liliane.binego@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651626
Liz Trenchard Research Fellow, Distribution & Taxonomy of Tropical Tree Species liz.trenchard@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651611
Lopa Saxena Research Associate, Food and Communities lopamudra.saxena@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651669
Luke Owen Research Fellow, Food systems, short food chains, community resilience & sustainable livelihoods luke.owen@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651616
Marco Van De Wiel Reader in Fluvial Processes marco.vandewiel@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651675
Margi Lennartsson Senior Research Fellow in Organic Horticulture and Public Health margi.lennartsson@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651657
Marina Chang Research Associate,  Agroecology & Resilient Urban Farming marina.chang@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651601
Mark Tilzey Senior Research Fellow in the Governance of Food Systems for Resilience mark.tilzey@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651622
Martin Wilkes Research Fellow, Fluvial Processes & Water Quality martin.wilkes@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651622
Martin Wolfe Professor of Plant Breeding for Sustainable Agriculture Resilience martin.wolfe@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651654
Michael Warne Professor of Ecotoxicology and Water Quality michael.warne@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651677
Michel Pimbert Executive Director
Theme Leader: Enabling policies and institutions for resilient food and water systems
michel.pimbert@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651607
Moya Kneafsey Professor of Food & Local Development/Human Geography
Theme Leader:  Community self-organisation for resilience
moya.kneafsey@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651608
Priscilla Claeys Senior Research Fellow, Resilienc e & Human Rights priscilla.claeys@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651672
Sara Burbi Research Fellow in Agroecological Livestock Systems sara.burbi@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651632
Saskia Von Diest Associate Researcher saskia.vondiest@coventry.ac.uk  
Sophie Barron-West KTP Associate sophie.barron-west@coventry.ac.uk  
Stefanie Lemke Senior Research Fellow, Gender Nutrition & Right to Food Policy stefanie.lemke@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651673
Steve Coupe Research Fellow, Environmental Sciences & Water Management steve.coupe@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651652
Sue Charlesworth Professor of Urban Physical Geography sue.charlesworth@coventry.ac.uk 02477 658370
Ulrich Schmutz Senior Research Fellow, Ecological Economist ulrich.schmutz@coventry.ac.uk 02477 651617

Associates

Internal Associates

Name Title Email
Augustine Ifelebuegu Principal Lecturer Augustine.Ifelebuegu@coventry.ac.uk
Babatunde Anifowose Senior Lecturer in Petroleum & Environmental Babatunde.Anifowose@coventry.ac.uk
Craig Lashford Senior Lecturer Craig.Lashford@coventry.ac.uk
Frank Warwick Lecturer in Physical Geography frank.warwick@coventry.ac.uk
Matthew Blackett Reader in Physical Geography and Natural Hazards Matthew.Blackett@coventry.ac.uk
Michael Kennedy Senior Lecturer in Environmental Science Michael.Kennedy@coventry.ac.uk
Michelle Farrell Lecturer in Physical Geography Michelle.Farrell@coventry.ac.uk
Olivier Sparagano Associate Pro-Vice Chancellor (Research) Olivier.sparagano@coventry.ac.uk
Soroush Abolfathi Senior Lecturer Soroush.Abolfathi@coventry.ac.uk

External Associates

Name Title Email
Anna Paskal Visiting Researcher Anna.Paskal@coventry.ac.uk
Anne Berson Agro-environmentalist, Program Coordinator in West Africa, BEDE Association
Honorary Research Fellow
Anne.Berson2@coventry.ac.uk
Anne-Marie Mayer Visiting Researcher in Agroecology Anne.Mayer@coventry.ac.uk
Biraj Patnaik Honorary Research Fellow biraj.patnaik@coventry.ac.uk
Boukary Barry Socio economist and Business Management
Honorary Research Fellow
Barry.Boukary@coventry.ac.uk
Carina Correa Visiting Researcher Carina.Correa@coventry.ac.uk
Carine Pionetti Researcher and consultant, Gender, Environment and Participation
Honorary Research Fellow
Carine.Pionetti2@coventry.ac.uk
Carol Kalafatic Honorary Research Fellow carol.kalafatic@coventry.ac.uk
Chris Nelson Visiting Researcher in Agroecology chris.nelson@coventry.ac.uk
Craig Lashford Lecturer in Physical Geography and Natural Hazards craig.lashford@coventry.ac.uk
D (Mama D) Alexander Honorary Research Fellow Donna.Alexander@coventry.ac.uk
Daniel Castro-Fresno Visiting Researcher Daniel.CastroFresno2@coventry.ac.uk
Deirdre Woods Visiting Researcher deirdre.woods@coventry.ac.uk
Doug Gurian-Sherman Honorary Research Fellow  
Flora Gathorne Hardy Artist-geographer and Farmer Researcher Touchstone Collaborations
Artist-in-Residence
Flora.Gathorne-Hardy@coventry.ac.uk
Henk Kieft Research Associate Henk.Kieft@coventry.ac.uk
Hermann Tillmann Honorary Research Fellow hermann.tillmann@coventry.ac.uk
Lindsay Shutes Quantitative Economist, LEI Wagenigen UR
Honorary Research Fellow
lindsay.shutes@coventry.ac.uk
Luis Sanudo-Fontaneda Honorary Research Fellow Luis.Sanudo-Fontaneda@coventry.ac.uk
Mark Dibben Honorary Research Fellow mark.dibben@coventry.ac.uk
Marta Guadalupe Reivera-Ferre Honorary Research Associate marta.rivera-ferre@coventry.ac.uk
Martin Pedersen Honorary Research Fellow Martin.Pedersen@coventry.ac.uk
Maruja Salas Social anthropologist, communicator, trainer-facilitator
Honorary Research Fellow
maruja.salas@coventry.ac.uk
Miche Fabre Lewin Artist-educator and Culinary Activist, Touchstone Collaborations
Artist-in-Residence and PhD Researcher
Miche.FabreLewin@coventry.ac.uk
Nick Jackson Honorary Research Fellow  
Nina Moeller Consultant, International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture, (ITPGRFA), Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations (FAO).
Honorary Research Fellow
nina.moeller@coventry.ac.uk
Palagummi Sainath Honorary Research Fellow palagummi.sainath@coventry.ac.uk
Patrick Mulvany Honorary Research Fellow patrick.mulvany@coventry.ac.uk
Philip Harris Professor of Biological Agriculture & Horticulture
Honorary Research Fellow
philip.harris@coventry.ac.uk
Stefania Errico Honorary Research Fellow stefania.errico@coventry.ac.uk
Tomas Remiarz Industry Associate Tomas.Remiarz@coventry.ac.uk
Veronica Barry Visiting Researcher