Our people

Researchers

Name Title Email
Dr Arinola Adefila Assistant Professor arinola.adefila@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Sian Alsop Assistant Professor sian.alsop@coventry.ac.uk
Professor Julia Carroll Theme lead for the Development, Engagement and Attainment theme julia.carroll@coventry.ac.uk
Professor Suzanne Clisby Theme lead for the Gender, Equality and Diversity theme suzanne.clisby@coventry.ac.uk
Professor Lynn Clouder Professor of Professional Education and Academic Director l.clouder@coventry.ac.uk
Professor Megan Crawford Theme lead for the Educational Leadership and Policy theme megan.crawford@coventry.ac.uk
Dr QueAnh Dang Assistant Professor queanh.dang@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Alun DeWinter Research Fellow alun.dewinter@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Sylwia Holmes Assistant Professor Sylwia.holmes@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Jaya Jacobo Assistant Professor Jaya.jacobo@coventry.ac.uk 
Dr Mehmet Karakus Assistant Professor Mehmet.Karakus@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Virginia King Research Fellow virginia.king@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Jie Ma Research Fellow jie.ma@coventry.ac.uk  
Dr Luca Morini Research Fellow luca.morini@coventry.ac.uk
Steve Raven Research Assistant steve.raven@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Carlo Tramontano Assistant Professor carlo.tramontano@coventry.ac.uk
Jenny Wells Research Assistant jenny.wells@coventry.ac.uk
Professor Katherine Wimpenny Theme lead for the Global Learning: Education without Boundaries theme katherine.wimpenny@coventry.ac.uk


Operations team

Marie has worked at Coventry University since 2002. She previously worked in project management before moving into teaching as a Senior Lecturer at Coventry Business School. Marie has achieved a Masters in Management, a teaching qualification and is part of the Aurora Women in Leadership programme, as well as being trained in PRINCE2. As Operations Manager for GLEA, Marie leads all aspects of operational activity within GLEA.

Contact Marie: marie.sams@coventry.ac.uk

Natalie provides administrative and operational support for GLEA. Natalie’s career at Coventry University began with a self-sought volunteer opportunity in the Disability and Welfare office in 2010, leading her to specialise in a number of university events such as graduation, enrolment and examinations. Thus providing a keen interest in the student journey and how staff can enhance the overall student experience.

Contact Natalie: natalie.garrison@coventry.ac.uk

Mandy joined Coventry University’s admissions team in 2003. Through this, and her experience in the Apprenticeship team in CU Coventry, Mandy has built up a wealth of knowledge in the life cycle of a student. Now working in research, Mandy undertakes varied activities involved in the smooth and efficient operations of the expanding GLEA. This includes project visits, booking travel, setting up research seminars and also supporting PhD students and colleagues within the centre.

Contact Mandy: mandy.ashley@coventry.ac.uk


Visiting Professors

Dr Jason Arday is an Associate Professor in Sociology at Durham University in the Department of Sociology and the Deputy Executive Dean for People and Culture in the Faculty of Social Science and Health. He is a Visiting Research Fellow at The Ohio State University in the Office of Diversity and Inclusion, an Adjunct Professor at Nelson Mandela University in the Centre for Critical Studies in Higher Education Transformation and a Trustee of the Runnymede Trust, the UK’s leading Race Equality Thinktank. Jason is also a Trustee of the British Sociological Association (BSA) and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts (RSA). He sits on the Centre for Labour and Social Studies (CLASS) National Advisory Panel and the NHS Race and Health Observatory Academic Reference Group.

Contact Jason: jason.arday@coventry.ac.uk

Dr Jos Beelen is Professor of Global Learning at The Hague University of Applied Sciences, and is affiliated to the Centre for Higher Education Internationalisation (CHEI) at Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Milan. Jos’s research interests focus on internationalisation of curricula, particularly the roles and skills of academics in internationalisation processes. He has conducted action research with stakeholders to identify obstacles and develop enablers for internationalisation of curricula. Jos sits on the EAIE publications committee and is a certified senior EAIE-trainer. He also acts as reviewer for the Journal of Studies in International Education (JSIE).

Contact Jos: jos.beelen@coventry.ac.uk 

Daniel Burgos is Full Professor of Education & Communication Technologies, Vice-chancellor for Knowledge Transfer & Technology, UNESCO Chair on eLearning, and ICDE Chair in Open Educational Resources at Universidad Internacional de La Rioja. His research interests focus on educational technology and innovation from a practical approach. Daniel was founder and Executive Board member of the European association for eLearning Telearc, the European Community of eLearning TELEurope, the Spanish association for eLearning TELspain, and the Mediterranean Network for Open Education OpenMed, which works with Arab and South-European countries to produce and foster Open Education national declarations. He also leads the Spanish pilot of the only Competitiveness and Innovation Framework Programme (CIP) project on encouraging STEM subjects in K-12 (Inspiring Science Education) with a practical implementation with over 5000 schools across the European Union.

Contact Daniel: daniel.burgos@coventry.ac.uk 

Professor Christina Hughes is Founder and CEO of Women-Space which supports women’s leadership and career development. She has held executive leadership roles in three universities: Pro-Vice Chancellor at the University of Warwick; Provost at Sheffield Hallam University, and interim Deputy Vice Chancellor at the University of Kent. Christina has published over 15 books, has been successful in acquiring £1.6m in external grant funding and has extensive experience of leading institutional change. She was the founding co-Chair of the Gender and Education Association (GEA), is a member of the Board of Governors at Leeds Beckett University, a Trustee of Villiers Park Educational Trust and an Honorary Professor, University of Kent.

Contact Christina: christina.hughes@coventry.ac.uk 

Malcolm Tight is Professor of Higher Education at Lancaster University, having previously worked at the University of Warwick, Birkbeck College and the Open University. His current research focuses on mapping and evaluating the state of higher education research worldwide. Malcolm is Editor of the journal, Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education, and of two book series, International Perspectives on Higher Education Research and Theory and Method in Higher Education Research (with Jeroen Huisman). He was a member of the REF Education Sub-Panel in 2014.

Contact Malcolm: malcolm.tight@coventry.ac.uk 

Emma is a Lecturer in Developmental Psychology at Nottingham Trent University. In 2014 Emma was awarded a PhD by the University of Worcester for work evaluating an intervention using cognitive behavioural theory techniques to support children’s self-belief and engagement with school. Following her PhD, Emma worked at Coventry University as a Research Fellow in children’s reading development, focusing on how affective factors influence literacy development. Emma (Principal Investigator) is working with Dr Helen Breadmore on an Education Endowment Foundation (EEF) grant evaluating a paired reading intervention in 89 schools.

Contact Emma: emma.vardy@coventry.ac.uk 


Manage cookie settings
Coventry University No.1 Modern University No.1 Modern University in the Midlands
University of the year shortlisted
QS Five Star Rating 2020
Coventry City of Culture 2021