Our people

Researchers

Name Title Email
Dr Arinola Adefila Assistant Professor arinola.adefila@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Sian Alsop Assistant Professor sian.alsop@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Helen Breadmore Associate Professor helen.breadmore@coventry.ac.uk
Professor Julia Carroll Theme lead for the Development, Engagement and Attainment theme julia.carroll@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Yung-Fang Chen Associate yung-fang.chen@coventry.ac.uk
Professor Suzanne Clisby Theme lead for the Gender, Equality and Diversity theme suzanne.clisby@coventry.ac.uk
Professor Lynn Clouder Professor of Professional Education and Academic Director l.clouder@coventry.ac.uk
Professor Megan Crawford Theme lead for the Educational Leadership and Policy theme megan.crawford@coventry.ac.uk
Dr QueAnh Dang Assistant Professor queanh.dang@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Alun DeWinter Research Fellow alun.dewinter@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Sylwia Holmes Assistant Professor Sylwia.holmes@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Jaya Jacobo Assistant Professor Jaya.jacobo@coventry.ac.uk 
Dr Virginia King Research Fellow virginia.king@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Luca Morini Research Fellow luca.morini@coventry.ac.uk
Steve Raven Research Assistant steve.raven@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Carlo Tramontano Assistant Professor carlo.tramontano@coventry.ac.uk
Professor Katherine Wimpenny Theme lead for the Global Learning: Education without Boundaries theme katherine.wimpenny@coventry.ac.uk


Operations team

Marie has worked at Coventry University since 2002. She previously worked in project management before moving into teaching as a Senior Lecturer at Coventry Business School. Marie has achieved a Masters in Management, a teaching qualification and is part of the Aurora Women in Leadership programme, as well as being trained in PRINCE2. As Operations Manager for GLEA, Marie leads all aspects of operational activity within GLEA.

Contact Marie: marie.sams@coventry.ac.uk

Natalie provides administrative and operational support for GLEA. Natalie’s career at Coventry University began with a self-sought volunteer opportunity in the Disability and Welfare office in 2010, leading her to specialise in a number of university events such as graduation, enrolment and examinations. Thus providing a keen interest in the student journey and how staff can enhance the overall student experience.

Contact Natalie: natalie.garrison@coventry.ac.uk

Mandy joined Coventry University’s admissions team in 2003. Through this, and her experience in the Apprenticeship team in CU Coventry, Mandy has built up a wealth of knowledge in the life cycle of a student. Now working in research, Mandy undertakes varied activities involved in the smooth and efficient operations of the expanding GLEA. This includes project visits, booking travel, setting up research seminars and also supporting PhD students and colleagues within the centre.

Contact Mandy: mandy.ashley@coventry.ac.uk


Visiting Professors

Dr Jos Beelen is Professor of Global Learning at The Hague University of Applied Sciences, and is affiliated to the Centre for Higher Education Internationalisation (CHEI) at Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Milan. Jos’s research interests focus on internationalisation of curricula, particularly the roles and skills of academics in internationalisation processes. He has conducted action research with stakeholders to identify obstacles and develop enablers for internationalisation of curricula. Jos sits on the EAIE publications committee and is a certified senior EAIE-trainer. He also acts as reviewer for the Journal of Studies in International Education (JSIE).

Contact Jos: jos.beelen@coventry.ac.uk 

Daniel Burgos is Full Professor of Education & Communication Technologies, Vice-chancellor for Knowledge Transfer & Technology, UNESCO Chair on eLearning, and ICDE Chair in Open Educational Resources at Universidad Internacional de La Rioja. His research interests focus on educational technology and innovation from a practical approach. Daniel was founder and Executive Board member of the European association for eLearning Telearc, the European Community of eLearning TELEurope, the Spanish association for eLearning TELspain, and the Mediterranean Network for Open Education OpenMed, which works with Arab and South-European countries to produce and foster Open Education national declarations. He also leads the Spanish pilot of the only Competitiveness and Innovation Framework Programme (CIP) project on encouraging STEM subjects in K-12 (Inspiring Science Education) with a practical implementation with over 5000 schools across the European Union.

Contact Daniel: daniel.burgos@coventry.ac.uk 

Christina Hughes was Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education and Student Experience) at the University of Kent; Provost, Sheffield Hallam University; and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching), University of Warwick. She now works as an independent consultant. Christina’s academic background is in Sociology and her research and teaching have always focused on issues of gender and equity. She set up the Gender and Education Association and has researched stepfamily life, work and employment and higher education. She has held appointments as assessor for the Office for Students’ Teaching Excellence Framework and has recently completed a large national study of learning gain. Christina has a national reputation in the field of access and widening participation, leading the University of Warwick’s work here.

Contact Christina: christina.hughes@coventry.ac.uk 

Malcolm Tight is Professor of Higher Education at Lancaster University, having previously worked at the University of Warwick, Birkbeck College and the Open University. His current research focuses on mapping and evaluating the state of higher education research worldwide. Malcolm is Editor of two journals, Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education and Tertiary Education and Management, and of two book series, International Perspectives on Higher Education Research and Theory and Method in Higher Education Research (with Jeroen Huisman). He was a member of the REF Education Sub-Panel in 2014.

Contact Malcolm: malcolm.tight@coventry.ac.uk 

Emma is a Lecturer in Developmental Psychology at Nottingham Trent University. In 2014 Emma was awarded a PhD by the University of Worcester for work evaluating an intervention using cognitive behavioural theory techniques to support children’s self-belief and engagement with school. Following her PhD, Emma worked at Coventry University as a Research Fellow in children’s reading development, focusing on how affective factors influence literacy development. Emma (Principal Investigator) is working with Dr Helen Breadmore on an Education Endowment Foundation (EEF) grant evaluating a paired reading intervention in 89 schools.

Contact Emma: emma.vardy@coventry.ac.uk 


Coventry University No.1 Modern University No.1 Modern University in the Midlands
Coventry University awarded TEF GOLD Teaching Excellence Framework
University of the year shortlisted
QS Five Star Rating 2020
Coventry City of Culture 2021