Audit and Risk Committee

This Committee is responsible for directing and overseeing the University's arrangements for internal and external audit. It provides impartial advice to the Board on the discharge of the Board's responsibilities for proper financial management, for the effectiveness of risk management, internal control and management systems, and for the economy, efficiency and effectiveness with which the University's activities have been properly discharged.

 Audit and Risk Committee - Constitution and Terms of Reference (CTRs)

Helen Nixseaman


Currently in their second term as Governor, Helen was appointed in September 2017. Prior to this Helen was an external co-opted member. Helen is a Chartered Accountant with expertise in risk management and internal controls, with a career that has included being a risk assurance partner with PricewaterhouseCoopers. Helen has an MA in Natural Sciences and an MSc in Biochemical Engineering.

Helen is also a member of Board of Governors and Governance and Nominations Committee.


Linda Ryan

Co-opted Governor

Currently in their second term as Governor, Linda was appointed in February 2017. Prior to this Linda was an external co-opted member.  They are a Chartered Accountant with a commercial and operational focus, experienced at operating at board level, with a strong emphasis on team working.

Linda is also a member of Board of Governors.

Ian Davidson

Ian Davidson

Independent Governor

Ian is a Chartered Accountant with more than 25 years’ experience in the industry and most recently was chairman of the GSH Group Plc, an international facilities and energy management group with operations across the UK, Europe, North America and India. They have held board-level positions in several companies in a diverse range of sectors, including engineering, automotive, pharmaceuticals and retailing. Ian has a broad background of working internationally.

Ian has particular expertise in the financing and restructuring of businesses with a distinct emphasis on mergers, acquisitions and disposals.

Ian is also a member of the Board of Governors.


Gurdip Dhami

External Co-opted Member

Gurdip was appointed to the Audit and Risk Committee in September 2019 and is a Chartered Accountant and an Associate Member of the Association of Corporate Treasurers. Gurdip has over 25 years’ experience in the financial services industry and has held roles in corporate treasury, debt capital markets, finance and risk management. They have a BSc in Physics and a MSc in Operational Research.


Manage cookie settings
Coventry University No.1 Modern University No.1 Modern University in the Midlands
Coventry University awarded TEF GOLD Teaching Excellence Framework
University of the year shortlisted
QS Five Star Rating 2020
Coventry City of Culture 2021