Coventry University | Charitable Status

Campus Map

Working with Coventry University

Working at Coventry University

Coventry University is a diverse and exciting place to work and we share the enthusiasm of our staff and students to be the best at whatever they choose to do. As one of the City’s biggest employers, we offer some impressive benefits for our staff and are committed to delivering the very best opportunities. We have a comprehensive training, personal and professional development programme that provides our employees with the skills to enhance their performance in the workplace and grow in their careers. There are pension schemes, a generous holiday allowance and flexible working opportunities as well as lifestyle benefits including childcare vouchers, discounted membership to the £4 million sports and recreation centre and schemes such as Cycle to Work and the CU Car Share initiative.

View current job vacancies.


Staff portal

Access the central point of information for all staff across the University.


Student Portal

Check your assessments, access Solar and get course information.


Charitable Information

Coventry University is a higher education corporation established under the Education Reform Act 1988 by the Order of the Privy Council on 16 February 1993. Its powers are laid down in s.124 of the Education Reform Act 1988 and are governed in accordance with articles of government made by the corporation with the approval of the Privy Council (s.125 of the Act).

Coventry University is an exempt charity by virtue of s.125A of the Education Reform Act 1988 as inserted by s. 41 of the Teaching and Higher Education Act 1998.

In accordance with the Financial Memorandum between HEFCE and HEIs the University has made available the following information in respect of its exempt charitable status:

List of trustees’ other trusteeships

The following Coventry University trustees are also trustees of the following charities:

Dr. Val Cox Coventry University Students’ Union
Mr Anil Majithia Voluntary Action Leicestershire (VAL)
Mr Robert Stockdale NSK Pension Trustee Ltd
Ms Marion Plant OBE UK WorldSkills


Coventry University Charitable Trust

In addition to the University being an exempt charity, the University also administers an associated exempt charity, known as Coventry University Charitable Trust (CUCT).

The current trustees of the CUCT are:

  • Chair of the Board of Governors, Mr Stephen Parker
  • Vice-Chancellor, Prof John Latham
  • University Secretary, Ms Kate Quantrell
  • Group Finance Director
  • Senior Member of Academic Staff, Dr Shaun Hides

For details of the CUCT trust documentation, please contact the Clerk to the Board, Gemma Towns,

Coventry University Students' Union (CUSU)

Coventry University Students' Union (CUSU) is a registered charity, details of which can be found at their website.