Cell Signalling and Membrane Biology

Cell Signalling and Membrane Biology

Focus of our research

Research within this theme focuses on understanding fundamental molecular mechanisms to provide novel insights into cellular processes and their regulation.

This includes receptors, cell signalling, development of organisms, their interaction with pathogens, plus the molecular basis and pathophysiology of diseases including cancer and metabolic disorders, as well as signalling and transcriptional pathways in normal and pathological states.

We exploit multi-disciplinary approaches including molecular biology, cell and developmental biology, biochemical pharmacology, confocal microscopy, genetics/epigenetics, computational and systems biology.

If you wish to find out more about this theme, please get in contact with Professor Mark Wheatley

Our vision:

Improving health through a detailed understanding of molecules and cells.

Our mission:

To investigating cellular mechanisms to benefit human health.

Key researchers

Name Title Email
Professor Mark Wheatley Theme lead, Professor of Biochemical Pharmacology mark.wheatley@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Hoor Ayub Research Fellow hoor.ayub@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Jason Bennett Assistant Professor jason.bennett@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Mike Dodd Assistant Professor mike.dodd@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Jennifer Greaves Assistant Professor jennifer.greaves@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Igor Morozov Assistant Professor igor.morozov@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Anne Reiman Assistant Professor anne.reiman@coventry.ac.uk
Dr Romez Uddin Research Fellow romez.uddin@coventry.ac.uk

Project spotlight

Our research aims to increase our understanding of fundamental molecular mechanisms to provide novel insights into cellular processes and their regulation for the benefit of human health.

Find out more about some of our projects:

GPCR:RAMP

Investigating GPCR:RAMP

G-protein-coupled receptors (GPCRs) and complexes with accessory proteins (RAMPs) will be purified in nanoscale discs. These will be used to develop small antibodies (nanobodies) as tools for investigating receptor function.

S-aclyation

Investigating the function and substrate interaction network of ABHD16A

ABHD16A, a known phosphatatidylserine-lipase involved in neuroimmunological function, was recently identified as a novel, selective APT. This study aims to characterise the molecular mechanisms and functions of a novel APT, ABHD16A.

Pill bottle lying on side with pills spilling onto table

Transition state analysis to guide drug discovery

Exploiting and developing a new state-of-the-art computational model that makes it possible to predict how well a drug will bind to its receptor, how the receptor will change shape, and which signalling pathways it will activate.

Manage cookie settings
Coventry University No.1 Modern University No.1 Modern University in the Midlands
Coventry University awarded TEF GOLD Teaching Excellence Framework
University of the year shortlisted
QS Five Star Rating 2020
Coventry City of Culture 2021