Meet the Team

The Centre for Healthcare Research (CHR) has a strong research leadership team who are actively involved in research, teaching and practice. Many of the researchers have held leadership positions in the healthcare sector so their research is highly applied and relevant to the sector. 

Professor Rosie Kneafsey

Director of the Centre for Healthcare Research

Rosie Kneafsey is the Director for the Centre for Healthcare Research and also Strategic lead for knowledge and engagement for the Centre for Care Excellence.  Prior to this she was the Head of School, for Nursing, Midwifery and Health, Coventry University. Her career began as a registered nurse and she has worked as a researcher and teacher during her time at both Salford University and Birmingham University, joining Coventry University in 2011. In 2012 Rosie completed her PhD which examined the nursing contribution to hospitalised older adults’ mobility rehabilitation. She is currently engaged in research relating to nursing, midwifery and education.

Professor Rosie Kneafsey is supported by the following members of staff who make up the Centres’ Team:

Rosie Kneafsey profile photo.

The Team

Name Email
Professor Ala Szczepura
Dr Natasha Taylor
Dr Peter Zeh
Dr Kesenija Maravic
Dr Christine Grant
Dr Amanda Adegboye
Emeritus Professor Jane Coad
Professor Lisa Bayliss Pratt
Dr Nikita Rowley
Dr Gemma Pearce
Dr Sally Pezaro
Professor Guy Daly
Dr Louise Sewell
Dr Laura Strumidlo
Dr Hannah Andrews
Dr Patricia Bluteau
Dr Teresa Joyce
Dr Tracey Rehling
Dr Glykeria Skamagki
Dr Edward Ong
Dr Joshua Bluteau
Dr Annie Pettifer
Dr Laurence Baldwin


Members of the Centre for Care Excellence also work within this centre:

Name Email
Professor Jenny Gamble
Professor Shea Palmer
Dr David McWilliams
Dr Emma Murphy
Dr Liz Lees Deutsch


 Queen’s Award for Enterprise Logo
University of the year shortlisted
QS Five Star Rating 2023