Colourful ropes crossing over one another forming a circle with intersecting lines around it and a plain grey background.

CTPSR Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

The centre’s commitment to equality, diversity and inclusion is integral to CTPSR’s values and ethos. Diversity in our membership, perspectives and experiences has proven to increase innovation and performance at both an individual, community and organisational level. The committee’s work will cover all aspects of diversity, wherever obstacles to inclusion and equality may be perceived as a result of an individual’s identity and experiences.

At CTPSR we aspire to be a place of genuine equality, inclusion, diversity and meritocracy. We aim to establish an environment where all members of our community and partners are valued and respected, where each of us are enabled to develop and fulfil our maximum potential and where diversity and difference is encouraged and reflects society.

As members of CTPSR we commit not only to ensuring equalities under the law, but to actively address and challenge discrimination and disadvantage on the grounds of age, disability, ethnicity, gender, race, religion or belief, sexuality and socio-economic background. We will also actively advocate for and promote diversity, equality and inclusion across Coventry University.

The EDI Committee Action Plan has been informed by analysis of the 2020 CTPSR survey and draws on recommendations by the Universities UK Tackling Racial Harassment in Higher Education report released in November 2020. This initial action plan, launched in March 2021, will be followed by a more substantive consultation across CTPSR. The findings will inform an updated action plan to be implemented from September 2021.


The EDI team is led by Marwan Darweish and Laura Sulin. Membership is open to all CTPSR staff and PhD students. We aim to have a diverse membership which reflects the Centre’s community and wider society. Our current members are: Sariya Cheruvallil-Contractor, Gwenith Cross, Marwan Darweish, Anna Gillions Serena Hussain, Durukan Imrie-Kuzu, Katharine Jones, Valerie van Mulukom, Jessica Northey, Kindy Sandhu, and Laura Sulin.

 Queen’s Award for Enterprise Logo
University of the year shortlisted
QS Five Star Rating 2023