The Chancellor & Pro-Chancellors | Coventry Univer...

Campus Map

Working with Coventry University

Working at Coventry University

Coventry University is a diverse and exciting place to work and we share the enthusiasm of our staff and students to be the best at whatever they choose to do. As one of the City’s biggest employers, we offer some impressive benefits for our staff and are committed to delivering the very best opportunities. We have a comprehensive training, personal and professional development programme that provides our employees with the skills to enhance their performance in the workplace and grow in their careers. There are pension schemes, a generous holiday allowance and flexible working opportunities as well as lifestyle benefits including childcare vouchers, discounted membership to the £4 million sports and recreation centre and schemes such as Cycle to Work and the CU Car Share initiative.

View current job vacancies.


Staff portal

Access the central point of information for all staff across the University.


Student Portal

Check your assessments, access Solar and get course information.


The Chancellor & Pro-Chancellors

The Chancellor

The office of Chancellor of the University was created by the Board of Governors in 1994.  The Chancellor is appointed by the Board of Governors. It is the responsibility of the Pro-Chancellors to induct and install the new Chancellor.

The office of Chancellor is a non-constitutional role:

  • To act as the principal figurehead of the University;
  • To represent the University’s interests and to further its aims and profile;
  • To chair the “Chancellor’s Forum” or such other bodies as deemed appropriate;
  • To visit the University at least once a year, to provide encouragement and support to staff and students;
  • To preside over or participate in prestigious University events as appropriate, including Awards Ceremonies.

The Chancellor shall wear the University’s Chancellor’s robes at Awards Ceremonies and such other events as is deemed appropriate. If the Chancellor cannot be present at any Awards Ceremony one of the Pro-Chancellors must preside over the ceremony.

The recommendation for the appointment of a new Chancellor, or for the renewal of the period of office of the existing Chancellor, shall be made by an ad hoc group set up by the Board of Governors, comprising the Vice-Chancellor and the Chair of the Board and one or more other Governors; this group shall solicit suggestions and submit a shortlist to the Board and the Pro-Chancellors.

The appointment is for up to five years, which may be renewed by the Board of Governors on the advice of the group as defined above; there is no maximum period of office. The office may be relinquished at any time by mutual consent.


  • Margaret Casely-Hayford, 1 June 2017 to present

Former Chancellors:

  • The Lord Plumb of Coleshill DL, 1995 to 31 August 2007
  • Sir John Egan, 1 September 2007 to 2012, and 1 September 2012 to 2017


The office of Pro-Chancellor of the University was created by the Board of Governors in 1995.

The office of Pro-Chancellor is a non-constitutional role, and empowers the holders of the posts to act in the absence of the Chancellor or to undertake tasks in his/her name. The Pro-Chancellors include the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Board of Governors by virtue of office and for a further period of five years following the end of their period of office, and such other persons as have been chosen and appointed on the Board's behalf by the Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor and Chair of the Board.

All periods of office other than those co-terminous with being Chair/Deputy Chair of the Board are for five years and are normally renewable once; exceptionally an appointment can be made for a third or subsequent period of office. The period of office shall normally run September – August. The office may be relinquished at any time by mutual consent.

The Pro-Chancellor shall wear the University’s Pro-Chancellor’s robes at Awards Ceremonies and such other events as is deemed appropriate.

Former Pro-Chancellors

  • Terence Libby 1995-1999, 1999-2002
  • Patrick Lister 1988-1996, 1996-2001, 2001-2006
  • George Marsh 1996-2002, 2002-2007, 2007-2012
  • Richard Parham 2001-2006, 2006-2011
  • Ian Caulfield 2006-2009, 2009-2011, 2011-2016
  • Celia Fitzhugh 1998-2003, 2003-2008, 2008-2013
  • Ernest Petrie 2002-2006, 2006-2011, 2011-2016

Current Pro-Chancellors

  • Alan Richardson 2008-2010, 2010-2014, 2015-2020
  • David Burton 2006-2009, 2009-2014, 2014-2019
  • Michael Judge 2006-2011, 2011 - 2016, 2016-2021
  • Stephen Parker (Chair of the Board of Governors)
  • Keith Bissett (Deputy Chair of the Board of Governors)