Food Safety, Inspection and Control BSc (Hons) 2021/22 entry

Clearing 2021

Clearing places available on this course

We have limited places available on this course through Clearing. Contact us now to discuss your options:
Course code:

D600

Study options:

3 years full-time
4 years sandwich (study abroad or work placement)

Location:

Coventry University

Starting:

September 2021
January 2022

Fees:
Faculty:

Get in touch

For questions regarding study and admissions please contact us:

+44 (0) 24 7765 2222
ukadmissions@coventry.ac.uk

Course code:

HLSU214

Study options:

3 years full-time
4 years sandwich (study abroad or work placement)

Location:

Coventry University

Starting:

September 2021
January 2022

Fees:
Faculty:

Get in touch

For questions regarding study and admissions please contact us:

+44 (0) 24 7765 2222
ukadmissions@coventry.ac.uk

Overview

As we strive to meet increasing global demands, the safety and authenticity of the food we eat and the hygiene of food premises that manufacture, prepare and serve food is of paramount importance. This is reflected in the work of government agencies, regulatory bodies and local councils who have responsibility for food safety. Individual food producers, suppliers and catering outlets also require knowledge and understanding of their responsibilities and legal requirements.

This course has been designed for people who have a passion for food safety and integrity, food inspection, regulation and global food developments and want to make a difference to upholding and improving the quality of the food we eat.

The second year of this degree covers the academic content of the Higher Certificate in Food Control, which needs to be completed by anyone who wishes to develop their career in Food Inspection, recognised by Local Government and the Food Standards Agency. Once the content has been successfully completed, you will be required to pass professional interviews with examiners from the Chartered Institute of Environmental Health (CIEH) and to complete a logbook of field practice – this can be expected to take an additional year.

The course is designed to be practical in nature and gives you opportunities to put the skills you develop in to practice in real world settings, for example previous students have undertaken inspections of food and food premises. We also use simulation to develop the skills you will need in industry, for example preparing and presenting a court prosecution case.

Our multimillion pound Alison Gingell Building features a suite of analytical and biological laboratories where you can gain hands-on experience in food safety, inspection and analytical techniques.

Why Coventry University?

An award-winning university, we are committed to providing our students with the best possible experience. We continue to invest in both our facilities and our innovative approach to education. Our students benefit from industry-relevant teaching, and resources and support designed to help them succeed. These range from our modern library and computing facilities to dedicated careers advice and our impressive Students’ Union activities.

COVID-19

The University may deliver certain contact hours and assessments via emerging online technologies and methods across all courses. In response to the Covid-19 pandemic, we are prepared for courses due to start in or after the 2020/2021 academic year to be delivered in a variety of forms. The form of delivery will be determined in accordance with Government and Public Health guidance. Whether on campus or online, our key priority is staff and student safety.

Due to the ongoing restrictions relating to Covid-19, some facilities (including some teaching and learning spaces) and some non-academic offerings (particularly in relation to international experiences), may vary from those advertised and may have reduced availability or restrictions on their use.

Global ready

An international outlook, with global opportunities

Employability

Career-ready graduates, with the skills to succeed

Teaching Excellence

Taught by lecturers who are experts in their field

Course essentials

A degree which offers you more, at no extra cost

Accreditation and Professional Recognition

This course is accredited and recognised by the following bodies:

Chartered Institute of Environmental Health (CIEH)

Chartered Institute of Environmental Health (CIEH)

Chartered Institute of Environmental Health

Chartered Institute of Environmental Health

Eligibility for membership of the CIEH upon successful completion of the Higher Certificate in Food Control academic content, professional log book and professional interview. Additional costs may apply. Please check with the membership body for details.

Our Facilities

Facilities Test Image

Ambulance

Our facilities include a mock ambulance, which students can use as part of their studies, to help simulate the patient journey. This gives students the opportunity to learn in situations that mirror real life scenarios.

Facilities Test Image

Strength and Conditioning Suite

Our multi-purpose suite is equipped with multiple Olympic lifting platforms, a 20m gait analysis track, an anti-gravity treadmill and even a 3D motion capture system!

Facilities Test Image

SuperLab

The Alison Gingell building contains a state-of-the-art SuperLab, capable of holding up to 270 people at once. The lab's facilities include equipment for microscopy, DNA analysis and forensic testing.

Course information

The course includes the academic content for the CIEH accredited Higher Certificate in Food Control (HCFC).

This must be supplemented with a professional log book (which may be completed during an appropriate Sandwich year placement or after graduation) and professional interview to meet the requirements of the CIEH.  

Course specification
Download PDF (183kb)

Modules

Overview

The first year of the course introduces you to the principles of human nutrition, public health, food chemistry and food law, alongside skills for study and preparation for future employment.

Year One is a combined first year of study alongside students on the Nutrition & Health BSc and Food Science BSc, allowing an interdisciplinary view of food related topics from the perspective of food science and technology, human nutrition and health and food safety.

Modules

  • Skills for Food Sciences 1

  • Skills for Food Sciences 2

  • Introduction to Public Health

  • Introduction to Food Law & Policy

  • Chemistry of Foods

  • Physiology & Biochemistry for Nutrition

Add+vantage

The focus on preparing students for successful futures sets Coventry apart as a university.

The Add+vantage modules teach a range of work experience and extra-curricular activities that are taken each year, and broaden students knowledge and skills within a work focused environment. There is a very wide range of Add+vantage free-choice subject areas, and they are arranged in themes.

Overview

In your second year, we will build on the principles explored in year 1 and begin to apply them in a practical context. Second year modules cover the subjects of hygiene management systems, food microbiology, food regulation and practical food inspection in relation to a huge variety of foods and food premises.

Modules

  • Contemporary Skills for Food and Nutrition Sciences

  • Food Microbiology

  • Methods in Food Production

  • Food Inspection and Food Standards

  • Food Law

  • Hygiene Management

Add+vantage

The focus on preparing students for successful futures sets Coventry apart as a university.

The Add+vantage modules teach a range of work experience and extra-curricular activities that are taken each year, and broaden students knowledge and skills within a work focused environment. There is a very wide range of Add+vantage free-choice subject areas, and they are arranged in themes.

Overview

Following your second year, you will have an option to apply for a one-year professional work placement or study abroad in a partner institution.

Modules

  • Professional Experience Sandwich Year or Study Abroad

Overview

The final year of your course provides you with the opportunity to carry out an independent research project in relation to an area of food safety which interests you. If you opted for the professional experience sandwich year, this could follow on and be in partnership with your placement provider (subject to the provider’s approval).

You will be expected to utilise your theoretical and practical knowledge of food hygiene and safety to inspect both food premises and foods for their compliance with legislation. The final year modules are designed to expand your understanding of epidemiology and food borne diseases, food chain security and sustainability, food law enforcement, food control and food fraud.

Modules

  • Epidemiology and Food Borne Diseases

  • Law Enforcement Case Studies

  • Food Chain Security and Sustainability

  • Food Control and Food Fraud

  • Research Design for Food and Nutrition Sciences

  • Independent Project in Food and Nutrition  Sciences

Add+vantage

The focus on preparing students for successful futures sets Coventry apart as a university.

The Add+vantage modules teach a range of work experience and extra-curricular activities that are taken each year, and broaden students knowledge and skills within a work focused environment. There is a very wide range of Add+vantage free-choice subject areas, and they are arranged in themes.

We regularly review our course content, to make it relevant and current for the benefit of our students. For these reasons, course modules may be updated.

In more detail...

This course can be studied full-time over three years, or over four years with an optional enhancement year after the second year. This optional enhancement year can be spent either studying abroad or on professional placement in an appropriate food safety setting with either a local authority or food industry partner*. The optional enhancement year is available to all students to apply for and acceptance is subject to the partner institution or company.

Each module is supported by online material to help prepare you for your taught sessions and to assist with your personal study.

Where possible, coursework uses applied tasks that mimic the skills needed in jobs to help ensure you are attractive to future employers, such as collection and interpretation of food safety policies and real life inspection scenarios. The course also offers the opportunity for numerous practical industry visits and fieldtrips e.g. visits to food manufacturers.

Teaching methods include: lectures, workshops, tutorials, presentations, group and individual problem-based learning projects, and practical case studies and application.

This course will be assessed using a variety of methods which will could vary depending upon the module. Assessment methods include coursework, tests, essays, practical or project work, formal examinations, group work, presentations and posters.

The Coventry University Group assessment strategy ensures that our courses are fairly assessed and allows us to monitor student progression towards the achieving the intended learning outcomes. Assessments may include exams, individual assignments or group work elements.

On successful completion, you will be able to:

  • Apply both theoretical and practical scientific concepts in food science, technology, nutrition, microbiology, epidemiology and food law to analyse food related risks to human health and to develop creative solutions that ensure a safe and sustainable global food supply chain. 
  • Integrate theory and practice by practical inspection of food and food premises, applying current national and international food hygiene and standards legislation.
  • Demonstrate knowledge meeting the academic requirements of the CIEH syllabus for the Higher Certificate in Food Control (HCFC). 
  • Plan, conduct, analyse and report the results of research based practical scientific investigations including due regard for health and safety and ethical considerations. 
  • Access and critically evaluate information to develop reasoned and balanced arguments pertaining to local, national and global food safety and control topics, challenge opinion and communicate ideas effectively in written, verbal and digital formats. 
  • Work effectively within a team, demonstrate leadership and team management skills and communicate effectively with a diverse range of individuals and organisations.
  • Demonstrate knowledge and skills, including appropriate professional conduct relevant for future employment within a control related profession (i.e. government control bodies, local government control authorities or private sector auditing/certification or consultation). 
  • Demonstrate self-management and independent learning skills that are transferable to graduate level/professional employment.

In a typical teaching week, you will have up to 20 ‘contact’ hours of teaching. This generally breaks down as:

  • Personal tutorial/small group teaching
  • Medium group teaching
  • Large group teaching

In addition, you will be expected to undertake a further 20 hours of self-directed study each week e.g. working on coursework assignments.

Food safety practice takes place in higher education institutions, regulatory bodies and industry throughout the world. This international perspective is reflected in a number of modules on the course, which deal with issues of global importance, such as epidemiology and food borne illness, food fraud, food inspection and global food security and sustainability.

There may also be an opportunity for you to apply to spend your optional enhancement year in an international setting, should a suitable international partner be identified. In addition, there are also opportunities to attend an international food safety conference.

The course provides the opportunities for online collaboration with overseas institutions on a joint problem-based learning assignment. An OIL (Online International Learning) opportunity will be provided for students included either within the Level 1 skills modules or our Food Law module 1002 BMS.

Global ready

Did you know we help more students travel internationally than any other UK university according to data from the experts in higher education data and analysis, HESA?

In 2018/19, we were able to provide a total of 5,469 experiences abroad that lasted at least five days.

Explore our international experiences

1st for

international experiences

Sending more students overseas than any other UK uni 2016/17


5,469

Student experiences

The number of student trips abroad for at least 5 days in 2018/19


12,000

and counting

The number of students we’ve helped travel internationally since 2016


12

global programmes

As well as trips, we offer other opportunities like language courses

Clearing places available on this course

See if you have enough points (UCAS tariff 2021)

Don't know your points total? Work it out
Additional requirements may apply

Haven't met the entry requirements or don’t have the right qualifications? You may still be able to progress onto a degree you’d love by studying a foundation or access course.

View our full list of country specific entry requirements on our Entry requirements page. You can also explore our International foundation year courses.

Tuition Fees

We pride ourselves on offering competitive tuition fees which we review on an annual basis and offer a wide range of scholarships to support students with their studies. Course fees are calculated on the basis of what it costs to teach each course and we aim for total financial transparency.

For more information, please visit our Finance pages.

Starts

Fee


September 2021

£9,250 (per year)


January 2022

£9,250 (per year)


Scholarships and bursaries

We offer a variety of scholarships and bursaries to students at Coventry University to help fund the cost of your study. Eligibility may depend on your circumstances and academic achievement.

Starts

Fee


September 2021

£16,300 (per year)


January 2022

£16,300 (per year)


Scholarships and bursaries

There are a number of scholarships available to international students at Coventry University. EU students may be eligible for a transition bursary.

Course essentials at no extra cost

We're committed to communicating study costs clearly to make sure you're not faced with having to make any unexpected payments.

This is why our ‘Flying Start’ package provides you with a few course essentials. Your full-time fee for an undergraduate degree will cover the following:

UK field trips

Any mandatory site visits and trips within the United Kingdom.

Key material

This can include core textbooks, software and equipment.

Laser prints

1,000 A4 sides of black and white laser printing credits per year.

Optional year

Pay no tuition fees for optional work placements or study abroad trips.

EU student fees

EU nationals starting in the 2020/21 academic year remain eligible for the same fees as home students and the same financial support. Financial support comes from Student Finance England, and covers undergraduate and postgraduate study for the duration of their course, providing they meet the residency requirement.

For tuition fee loans
EU nationals starting in the 2020/21 academic year must have resided in the European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland for the three years prior to the start of their course. The purpose of that three year residency should not have been mainly for the purpose of receiving full time education.

For maintenance loans
EU nationals starting in the 2020/21 academic year must have resided in the UK and Islands for the five years prior to the start of their course. The purpose of that five year residency should not have been mainly for the purpose of receiving full time education.

Reduced course fees for EU students

The UK Government has confirmed that EU students who are starting their course in September 2021 and onwards will be classified as an international student. To support our EU community who are affected by this change, Coventry University are providing an EU Member State Transition Bursary.

Students ordinarily domiciled in an EU Member State who prior to the 2021/22 academic intake qualified for UK fees (home fee status), are eligible for the EU Member State Transition Bursary. This will bring fee levels for those students across the Group into line with those of UK students for courses starting in the 2021/22 academic year.

Review more details on our EU Member State Transition Award/Bursary page.

Career prospects

Graduate Immigration Route visa

Based on current information from the UK Government, international students whose study extends beyond summer 2021 may be eligible for a visa under the UK Government’s Graduate Immigration Route, which will enable students to stay and work, or look for work, in the UK at any skill level for up to two (2) years. Check the most up to date guidance available to check your eligibility and any updates from the UK Government before making an application or enrolment decision.

This course is designed to meet the needs of the food industry and regulatory agencies by covering skills including: how to assess food safety risks, advise on food hygiene and safety, inspect food and food premises, and understand and apply legislation relating to food.

We aim to share knowledge about how technologies will aid the food quality assurance process, and the problems of maintaining a sustainable global food chain. In addition, there will be opportunities for you to develop skills in problem solving, team work and effective communication that may be applicable to non-discipline specific graduate career routes.

The course includes the academic content for the CIEH accredited Higher Certificate in Food Control (HCFC). This must be supplemented with a professional log book (which may be completed during an appropriate placement year or after graduation) and professional interview to meet the requirements of the CIEH.

Coventry University is committed to preparing you for your future career and giving you a competitive edge in the graduate job market. The university’s Talent Team provide a wide range of support services to help you plan and prepare for your career.

Disclaimer

By accepting your offer of a place and enrolling with us, a Student Contract will be formed between you and the university. A copy of the 2021/22 Contract can be found here. The Contract details your rights and the obligations you will be bound by during your time as a student and contains the obligations that the university will owe to you. You should read the Contract before you accept an offer of a place and before you enrol at the university.

The tuition fee for the course that is stated on the course webpage and in the prospectus for the first year of study will apply. We will review our tuition fees each year. For UK and EU students, if Parliament permit an increase in tuition fees, we may increase fees for each subsequent year of study in line with any such changes. Note that any increase is expected to be in line with inflation. Following the UK’s exit from the European Union, EU students should be aware that there may be a change to UK laws following the UK’s exit, this may change their student status, their eligibility to study part time, and/or their eligibility for student finance. We will act in accordance with the UK’s laws in force in relation to student tuition fees and finance from time to time.

For International students the tuition fee that is stated on the course webpage and in the prospectus for the first year of study will apply. We will review our tuition fees each year. For international students, we may increase fees for each subsequent year of study but such increases will be no more than 5% above inflation.