CLOSE

Campus Map

Working with Coventry University

Working at Coventry University

Coventry University is a diverse and exciting place to work and we share the enthusiasm of our staff and students to be the best at whatever they choose to do. As one of the City’s biggest employers, we offer some impressive benefits for our staff and are committed to delivering the very best opportunities. We have a comprehensive training, personal and professional development programme that provides our employees with the skills to enhance their performance in the workplace and grow in their careers. There are pension schemes, a generous holiday allowance and flexible working opportunities as well as lifestyle benefits including childcare vouchers, discounted membership to the £4 million sports and recreation centre and schemes such as Cycle to Work and the CU Car Share initiative.

View current job vacancies.

LOG IN TO THE COVENTRY UNIVERSITY SITE

Staff portal

Access the central point of information for all staff across the University.

LOG IN TO THE STAFF PORTAL

Student Portal

Check your assessments, access Solar and get course information.

LOG IN TO THE STUDENT PORTAL

Complaints and Compliments

While Coventry University strives to ensure that it fulfils its role in the community in a positive and responsible manner, there may be occasions when that does not happen, and you need to let us know when it doesn’t.

The University recognises the rights of students, staff, applicants and members of the public to raise concerns about the services that we provide. We value all feedback, good or bad, and aim to learn from any negative comment to help us improve the service that we offer.

Our commitment to you

Throughout the complaints process we will:

  • take all complaints seriously;
  • treat you with respect at all times;
  • not treat you differently because you have made a complaint;
  • take an open and accessible approach;
  • be accountable and apologise if we are wrong;
  • be fair to all parties involved;
  • encourage local resolution in as many cases as possible.
Procedure overview

Informal Resolution via Conciliation (Conciliation is Available for Enrolled Students Only)

    Concerns addressed satisfactorily Case closed
Student has a concern that could not be resolved by the relevant course team or service area Student approaches conciliator for assistance
Concerns not addressed satisfactorily Go to stage 1
   

 

 

Stage 1: Complaint to Executive Dean of Faculty or Manager of Service

        Student satisfied with response: case closed
Student's concern is now considered to be a complaint Student submits complaint in writing Complaint forwarded to Executive Dean or Manager of Service Student informed of outcome
Student not satisfied with response: may take complaint to stage 2
       



Stage 2: Complaint to Vice-Chancellor

      Case closed and Completion of Procedures letter issued
Student escalates complaint to Vice Chancellor within 10 working days of response Independent investigation carried out Student informed of outcome
Student can take matter to the OIA within 12 months
   


 

What is a complaint?

In general terms it is an expression of dissatisfaction about a University’s action or lack of action or a specific concern about the provision of a programme of study, support service, administrative system or policy operated by or on behalf of the University or any specific concern about the activities of University students whilst on University owned property or University staff engaged in University business.

Who can make a complaint?

  • All current students.
  • All former students.
  • Any person affected by University services.
  • Third party complaints will be considered. Although we encourage those with a complaint to approach us directly, if we are provided with clear authority that a representative is acting on your behalf, we can accept such a complaint.
  • Anonymous complaints will be considered, dependent on the seriousness of the complaint and the likelihood of confirming the allegation from attributable sources.

What can I complain about?

An example of a complaint might be:

  • the quality of facilities provided by the University;
  • concerns about the delivery of a programme of study, teaching or administration;
  • misleading or incorrect information;
  • the quality and standard of any service that we provide or our failure to provide such a service;
  • the behaviour of a member of staff.

When do I complain?

It would be helpful if you could raise your complaint as soon as possible after the problem occurred as it will make it easier for your concerns to be resolved more quickly. Delays often mean it can be difficult to investigate properly.

The University will not normally accept complaints 3 months after the event in question.

How do I complain?

You can complain in person, by telephone, in writing by letter or by email.

What support is available to me in helping me with my complaint?

We do understand that raising a complaint can be stressful and that the process can sometimes seem difficult. We would strongly encourage students to contact Coventry University Students’ Union Advice Centre at any point in the complaint process so that you feel supported. This might be with:

  • helping you find the right words to make your case as clearly as possible;
  • explaining how the complaint process works and helping you decide whether this course of action is the best way of resolving your concerns;
  • supporting you at any meetings that you need to attend in relation to your formal complaint.

Coventry University Students’ Union Advice Centre has an office in the Hub, or can be contacted by phone on 024 7679 5200 and by email on suadvice@coventry.ac.uk

You may also wish to contact our Health and Wellbeing team if the issues have made you feel anxious or stressed. They can be contacted on 024 7765 8029 or at welfare.ss@coventry.ac.uk

We are committed to making our service easy to use for all students. If you require us to make any reasonable adjustments in order to access the complaints process, please let us know what we can do to help.

Informal resolution via conciliation

When things go wrong, we would encourage students to raise any concerns or queries as soon as possible, as this typically means that they will be easier and quicker to resolve. We don’t want to discourage you from discussing any concerns with your Faculty course team or a member of staff in the appropriate department or within Faculty Registry, as this can resolve your concerns immediately. However, if this doesn’t help or you would like to talk to an impartial adviser, you may wish to immediately seek support from a Conciliator.

What is conciliation?

The University offers a Conciliation Scheme, which provides students with an informal, supportive route to resolving complaints. A Conciliator will be available to meet with you, listen to your concerns, and seek to resolve any issues or problems you have, whether it be about course details, assessment or even difficulties with another person

The role of the Conciliator will be to meet with both parties and work with them to find a solution. They will offer advice on what would be an appropriate resolution to either party, adhering at all times to the University regulations. The emphasis will be on face to face communication wherever possible.

Once you have requested to meet with a Conciliator you will be contacted as quickly as possible to arrange a meeting.

You can approach a Conciliator by email using the list below. There are a number of Conciliators within each Faculty to deal with Faculty related issues, and Conciliators within Group Resolution Unit and other areas of the University to resolve service area related issues or other complaints and concerns.

 

Student Conciliators
Conciliator Faculty Email address Contact phone number / office
Jacques Gallagher Art & Humanities j.gallagher@coventry.ac.uk   024 7765 8200
Room GE209
Sara Reed Art & Humanities sara.reed@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 7456
Room ET206
Phil Perry Art & Humanities phil.perry@coventry.ac.uk 024 7688 8528
Room GS423
Nicola McKay Business & Law n.mckay@coventry.ac.uk  
Perihan Yavash Business & Law p.yavash@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 8441
Room WM215
Harriet Lodge Business & Law h.lodge@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 4525 Room GE214
Susan Barnes Business & Law susan.barnes@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 9502 Room JAG10
Craig Stewart Engineering, Environment & Computing craig.stewart@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 8650
Room EC3-05
Adelina Manea Engineering, Environment & Computing adelina.manea@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 7950
Room JL111
Phillip Lewis Engineering, Environment & Computing phillip.lewis@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 8084
Room EC3-01
Adrian Wood Engineering, Environment & Computing adrian.wood@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 7087
Room GE516
Nicky Lambon Health & Life Sciences n.lambon@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 5850 Room RC243
Nigel Wilson Health & Life Sciences n.wilson@coventry.ac.uk 024 7688 8747
Room JS227
Julie Hoare Health & Life Sciences j.hoare@coventry.ac.uk 024 7665 5864
Room RC220
John Gough Health & Life Sciences j.gough@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 8980
Room CWG20
Josephine Kwhali Health & Life Sciences josephine.kwhali@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 7067
Room CW105
Stef Cormack Health & Life Sciences stef.cormack@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 5942
Room RC247
Helen Fulford Governance helen.fulford@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 2192
David Bramley Group Resolution Unit d.bramley@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 2191
Helene Devane Group Resolution Unit h.devane@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 7089
Anne Nolan Group Resolution Unit anne.nolan@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 7144
Becky Van Allen Group Resolution Unit becky.vanallen@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 7141
Humaira Shahzad Group Resolution Unit humaira.shahzad@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 3698
Matthew Baines Finance matthew.baines@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 2040
Natalie Garrison Academic Registry natalie.garrison@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 2189
Hassan Abdul Azeez International Office hassan.abdulazeez@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 2658
Student Centre
Sarah Tompkins International Office sarah.tompkins@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 2169
Chris Martin ITS chris.martin@coventry.ac.uk 07557425604
Tessa Piper Central Registry tessa.piper@coventry.ac.uk 024 7765 7141

Stage 1: Complaint to Executive Dean of Faculty or Manager of Function

Although we hope that we are able to resolve complaints informally, we also recognise that students and any others who are affected by the University’s service may wish to pursue their complaint through the University’s formal channel.

Although we will accept complaints that are made in person or by telephone, we encourage you to complete the complaint pro-forma.

Please provide as much information as you can in letting us know what has gone wrong and how you would like the University to put things right. Where possible, you must provide any relevant evidence and this should be sent within 10 working days of submitting your complaint to complaints.reg@coventry.ac.uk. You are also asked to tell us what steps you have taken so far to resolve the matter.

All formal complaints must be made within 3 months of the alleged incident, matter or concern. Complaints received outside of our advertised deadlines will be deemed out of time and the University reserves the right not to progress the complaint any further.

Your complaint will normally be acknowledged by the next working day and this will inform you who will be investigating your complaint. A comprehensive response will normally be made available to you within 20 working days. If for any reason it is going to take longer, we will let you know as soon as we can and keep you updated on our progress.

Stage 2: Complaint to Vice-Chancellor

If you feel that the University has still not addressed your concerns, you are able to take your complaint to the final stage in the University’s complaints process by making a direct report to the Vice-Chancellor. You can do this by emailing complaints.reg@coventry.ac.uk and this must be within 10 working days of receiving the response to your stage 1 complaint, otherwise your complaint will be deemed out of time.

We will normally acknowledge your complaint by the next working day and inform you who will be investigating your complaint. The Vice-Chancellor will either investigate the complaint himself or ask one of his Senior Management team to investigate on his behalf.

A comprehensive response will normally be made available to you within 20 working days. If for any reason it is going to take longer, we will let you know as soon as we can and keep you updated on our progress.

Once you have received a reply, you have reached the end of the University’s internal procedures and shortly afterwards, the Registrar & Secretary will send you a Completion of Procedures letter. This will enable you (if you are a student), to take your complaint to the Office of the Independent Adjudicator for Higher Education (OIA) if you still feel that your complaint has not been resolved satisfactorily. You must do this within 12 months of the date of the completion of procedures letter.

 

Coventry University Complaints Form